Skip to content

Governor Abbott Orders Additional Counties to Halt Elective Surgeries and Procedures

July 10, 2020

As discussed in our previous update, pursuant to Executive Order GA-27, Texas Governor Greg Abbott ordered hospitals licensed under Chapter 241 of the Texas Health and Safety Code, and located in Bexar, Dallas, Harris, or Travis Counties to postpone all surgeries and procedures that are not medically necessary to diagnose or correct a serious medical condition or preserve the life of a patient who, as determined by the patient’s physician, would be at risk for serious adverse medical consequences or death without timely performance of the surgery or procedure.  On June 30, 2020, Cameron, Hidalgo, Nueces, and Webb Counties were added to this list pursuant to Governor Abbott’s Proclamation. Today, Governor Abbott issued an additional Proclamation ordering the suspension of elective surgeries and procedures at hospitals located in the counties listed below, which are grouped by Trauma Service Area, effective today at 11:59 p.m.:

  • Trauma Service Area J: Andrews, Brewster, Crane, Ector, Glasscock, Howard, Jeff Davis, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler counties;
  • Trauma Service Area K: Coke, Concho, Crockett, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Reagan, Runnels, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, and Tom Green counties;
  • Trauma Service Area M: Bosque, Falls, Hill, Limestone, and McLennan counties;
  • Trauma Service Area 0: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, San Saba, and Williamson counties;
  • Trauma Service Area P: Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wilson, and Zavala counties;
  • Trauma Service Area Q: Austin, Colorado, Fort Bend, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, and Wharton counties;
  • Trauma Service Area R: Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton, and Orange counties;
  • Trauma Service Area S: Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Jackson, Lavaca, and Victoria counties;
  • Trauma Service Area T: Jim Hogg and Zapata counties;
  • Trauma Service Area U: Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, McMullen, Refugio, and San Patricio counties;
  • Trauma Service Area V: Starr and Willacy counties.

To view a map of the Trauma Services Areas, please visit here. As a reminder, the prohibition in Executive Order GA-27 does not prevent the performance of any surgery or procedure that would not deplete hospital capacity needed to cope with the COVID-19 disaster if performed in accordance with commonly accepted standards of clinical practice. Additionally, in accordance with Executive Order GA-19, all hospitals licensed under chapter 241 of the Texas Health and Safety Code should continue to reserve at least 15% of hospital capacity to treat COVID-19 patients.